Alabama Learner’s Permit Study Guide: What are The Steps to Achieve one?
Are you an Alabama teenager looking for a driving permit to operate your parents’ car? Do you know about the DMV age regulation to drive a motor vehicle? In this article, we are going to introduce the DMV Alabama learner’s permit study guide, who can obtain and the steps to achieve it. Let’s move to the major part!
1. What’s a DMV Alabama learner’s permit?
In general, a DMV Alabama learner’s permit or Alabama driver’s permit is a permit that allows drivers to operate their vehicle under some restrictions. Normally, this type of permit is used for those who are in the process of taking a DMV Alabama driver’s license to practice and memorize how to drive a car; or for teenagers under 18 years old to drive under their parent’s control.
2. What are the DMV Alabama learner’s permit requirements?
2.1. Age requirements
The very first requirement you should follow strictly is the age limit. Because it is applied to all AL residents so if you disobey it, you totally are fined.
In Alabama state, you can get a learner’s permit when you are 15. In order to apply for a learner’s permit, you are required to complete an education course. Moreover, you only can drive under your parents’ and guardians’ control until you are qualified to receive an unrestricted driver’s license.
2.2. Document requirements
To prepare for the Alabama learner’s permit, you should bring all the following papers below to the nearest AL DPS office:
- 2 forms of personal identity, one of which has 4 portrait photos, or 3 additional forms of identification. At least one of these kinds of personal identification must be your principal form of identity; a birth certificate is also recommended.
- Your Social Security Card‘s original paper (the Medicaid or Medicare identification card is also accepted)
- Proof of your school enrolment (including transcripts)
- Form of exclusion (DL1/93), Graduation certificate (GED), or Enrollment certification
- A safe car should be brought with you.
- Proof of participation or attendance in an Alabama Drivers Ed class that is authorized (in case you are at the age of 15)
3. What are the steps to obtain the DMV Alabama learner’s permit?
3.1. Pass the Knowledge Test
An Alabama written test is required if anyone wants to receive the learner’s permit. In brief, the Alabama knowledge test will include 30 questions in about 30 minutes. Your task is to get at least a 24/30 score to pass. The content of the test will be taken from the Alabama Driver’s Permit Book. Thus, our suggestion for you is to read the book carefully and take some DMV Practice Tests before entering the actual test. Don’t think that it just an easy test, according to trusted statistics, there are nearly 30% of test-takers failed their first try in DMV learner’s license, be careful and well-prepared.
>>See more: DMV Written Test Study Guide
3.2. Complete the Vision Test
After completing the knowledge test, you must pass a vision test also. This test is to determine whether your vision ability is sufficient to operate your vehicle or not. It’s necessary because it not only guards the safety of yourself but also other drivers on the road. In addition, you must meet the DMV vision standard with 20/40 in both eyes, 20/40 in one eye at least, and 20/70 in the other eye.
3.3. Pay for the test fee
There will be a possible test fee of $36.25 that you should pay to receive your DMV Alabama learner’s permit. One thing you should note here is that there is no check for you.
3.4. Upgrade your permit
When you are older, you can upgrade your permit by applying for one of these two types of licenses, which are Restricted License and Unrestricted License.
- Restricted license: This license can be used for drivers who are between 16 and 17 years old. In this next stage, you are qualified to complete the Road test and receive the Restricted license. When obtaining this license, you can drive freely without any supervisor, however, you still be limited by the number of passengers as well as the time you drive your vehicle.
- Unrestricted license: You are required to be at least 16 years old to apply for this license. If you are under 17 years old, you must have a restricted license for at least 6 months before applying for this license. However, if you are 18 years old, you can receive the unrestricted license after completing the DMV written test, vision test, and road test.
>> See more: DMV Driving Test Study Guide
4. What can you do with your DMV Alabama learner’s permit?
After receiving your AL learner’s permit, you will be marked as a Class D license with a “Y” restriction. This restriction prohibits you from:
- Drive with more than one non-adult member
- Drive alone between midnight and 6 AM (to be able to drive, you must be accompanied by your parents or a licensed adult)
- Use cell phone under any circumstance (Your permit will be suspended if you are caught)
5. What are the FAQs of DMV Alabama learner’s permit?
5.1. How many questions are on the DMV Alabama permit test?
It is only 30 questions long. To pass and qualify for your learner’s permit, you must score at least 80 percent. That implies you must answer 24 out of 30 questions correctly.
5.2. Where can I take my DMV Alabama Learner’s Permit Test?
In Alabama, you may take your permit exam at your local DMV. Here are the locations of their offices in your state:
5.2. Can I do the DMV Alabama Learner’s Permit Test online?
Unfortunately, the permit test (or written exam) cannot be taken online. You must make an appointment and visit a driver’s license department office.
5.3. What happens if I fail my DMV Alabama Learner’s Permit Test?
Don’t worry if you fail your permit test. You have 90 days to complete it successfully two more times. However, keep in mind that you will certainly be charged a re-examination fee each time you retake the exam. So try your hardest to pass on the first try!
If you fail all three tries, your application will be closed and you will have to start over. That’s why it’s important to study for DMV Test.
5.4. Do I need to complete a Driver’s Education Course to take the DMV Alabama Learner’s Permit Test?
The answer is No. It’s not required in Alabama. You can practice by yourself at home or attend any school that can teach you to drive professionally.
5.5. Can I get a DMV license without completing the Learner’s Permit Test?
Unfortunately, you must pass the permit test in order to obtain a license. If you are 18 or older, you are no longer required to complete the Graduated Driver’s License program. However, you must still have permission for 6 months. And in order to obtain permission, you must pass the written exam/permit test.
That are all the information on DMV Alabama Learner’s Permit. We hope that with our detailed guidelines, you can take a clear understanding of it as well as prepare yourself carefully to obtain your Learner’s Permit successfully. If you want to find a website to practice for your DMV exam, start now with our DMV Practice Test!