Full Package Texas Driver’s License Renewal Guide
Is it time to renew your Texas driver’s license? We understand that the procedure and the various alternatives can be perplexing. However, there is no reason to be concerned. This helpful Texas driver’s license renewal has all of the required information you need to know! Let’s roll the intro to the main part!
1. When do I need to renew my Texas Driver’s license?
Texas extended the expiration period on June 1, 2020, to counteract the ever-increasing wait periods for your license. A Texas driver’s license is good for up to eight years instead of six, and it expires on your birthday.
It can be renewed two years before or after it expires. If you do not renew your license within two years of its expiration date, you will be required to retake the written and driving exams in order to obtain a new one.
If you are 85 or older, you must renew your license in person every two years at the Texas DPS.
2. What are the Texas driver’s license renewal requirements?
2.1. Under 18
For those who are under 18, you must bring the following documents below:
- A signed or stamped verification of enrollment (VOE) form. Computer-generated signatures are permitted!
- GED or high school diploma
- The most recent report card contains attendance data.
>> Read more: DMV Texas learner’s permit guide
2.2. For 79 years old and older
If you are 79 or older, you must renew your driver’s license in person at a DPS location. A vision test is required. Your medical history responses will be reviewed by the license and renewal specialist to determine whether additional testing is required.
3. How to make a Texas Driver’s License renewal?
You can renew your license with the Texas DPS (DMV office) in a variety of ways, which are invitation online, via phone, or by mail if you have received one. Otherwise, you must renew in person at your local DPS office. You can follow the brief guide to choose the most appropriate methods:
3.1. In-person renewal
If you choose to visit the DMV office, follow the complete steps below:
Step 1: Ensure you are legal to make the Texas driver’s license renewal. If you have suspected or fined, revoked on your record, you would not be able to make the renewal.
Step 2: Visit your DPS office to get the application form you can download it from the website
Step 3: After submitting your application form, you are now can make an appointment to your local DPS office
Step 4: When you arrive, remember to bring all the essential documents including proof of identity, social security number, and citizenship proof.
Step 5: Pass the vision exam, you are required to have at least a 20/40 vision test. You may be needed to take further written and driving examinations if you are above the age of 79 or have any medical or mental issues that could impair your ability to drive safely.
Step 6: The last step is to provide your identity proof including the thumbprints and picture taken. If the establishment does not print on-site, you will be given a 60-day temporary paper license. Your replacement license will be mailed to you within that time limit.
3.2. Online renewal
In order to make a Texas driver’s license renewal, you must meet all the requirements below:
- You already renewed your driver’s license at the office last time
- You have a driver’s license in Class C, M, or CM. A Class A, Class B, or commercial driver’s license cannot be renewed online.
- Your driver’s license is either about to expire or has expired for less than two years.
- You are at least 18 years old and have full driving rights.
- You are under the age of 79.
- Since your last renewal, your vision, bodily, and mental conditions have not altered in a way that impacts your ability to drive safely.
- You have no warrants or unpaid citations, and your license is not suspended or revoked.
- Your Social Security Number has already been recorded.
- You are a citizen of the United States.
In order to make the online renewal, you can do it by phone or by mail.
If you need to renew it by phone, you can call 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639) to get started. You will need your current driver’s license, a valid credit card, and the last four digits of your Social Security number. Notably, you will not obtain a temporary paper license if you renew by phone. If you intend to drive, make sure you renew your license at least a month before it expires. This will give you plenty of time to wait for your new license to arrive in the mail.
On the other hand, you can only renew your Texas driver’s license if you receive the invitation. For out-of-state residents, the eligibility requirements and process can be found on the dps.texas.gov website.
If you receive an invitation, you must follow the instructions and mail the package to the address on the invitation. With this procedure, you will not obtain a temporary paper license. If you intend to drive, make sure you renew your license 4-6 weeks in advance to provide enough time for it to arrive in the mail.
4. What are the Texas Driver’s License renewal fees?
The Texas driver’s license renewal fees are provided when you submit the needed documents. Here are the most common payments that you will be charged:
- From 18-84 years old: $33
- From 18-84 with a motorcycle: $44
- Over 85 years old: $9
- Disable veterans (60%): Free
5. What are the FAQs about Texas Driver’s License renewal?
5.1. Can I renew my Texas driver’s license online?
Is it possible to renew my Texas driver’s license online?
Start the renewal process online, or call 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639) to renew by phone. When you renew online, you will be asked to provide and/or update your emergency contact information.
5.2. Do I need my birth certificate to renew my Texas driver’s license?
Fill out a renewal application before you arrive or at the local office. Provide the necessary documents: renewal application, proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful residence in the country, personal identification (marriage license, divorce papers, birth certificate), and Social Security Number.
5.4. When can I make my Texas driver’s license renewal?
As early as 60 days before the license expiration date, and as late as 365 days after the license expiration date. A license that has expired for 90 days or fewer may be renewed for one-twelfth of the standard renewal charge.
5.5.When your Texas driver’s license expires, what happens?
It can be renewed two years before or after it expires. If you do not renew your license within two years of its expiration date, you will be required to retake the written and driving exams in order to obtain a new one. If you are 85 or older, you must renew your license in person every two years at the Texas DPS.
5.6. How much does it cost to renew your license in Texas?
- Driver License Renewal: $33.00
- Driver License with Motorcycle Class Renewal: $44.00.
- Commercial Driver License Renewal: $97.00.
- Commercial Driver License with Motorcycle Class Renewal: $105.00.
That’s all you need to know about renewing your Texas driver’s license. If you need assistance with any renewal examinations, Driving Test Pro is the ideal study resource to help you quickly and easily refresh the rules of the road. The DMV Texas practice test is waiting for you!