For those who want to obtain a Texas DMV Driver’s License, passing the learner’s permit is required. Thus, this article is a complete DMV Texas Learner’s Permit guide to help candidates, especially teenagers, gather the essential information on how to obtain one. Let’s see what exactly to expect!


texas learners permit
DMV Texas learners permit guide for beginners


1. What are the Texas Learner’s permit requirements? 

When you reach the age of 15, you can apply for a learner’s permit in Texas. Consult with your parents or legal guardians to choose the appropriate moment to begin this procedure. They must approve your application and accompany you to the DPS.


Teens under the age of 18 must finish an authorized 32-hour driving education course before applying for a permit. This course will teach you the fundamentals of driving, such as traffic rules and road signs, as well as assist you in passing the written exam.


There are several forms of driving education available:

  • A state-accredited driver training institution may provide traditional or online driving instruction.
  • Parental instruction in driver education (PTDE)
  • Driver instruction at a public school in Texas

If you choose the concurrent approach, you may be able to take the Texas learner’s permit written exam after only six hours of driving education.

Requirements if you’re 18 or older – If you’re 18 or older, you must still complete driver’s education, but the course is just 6 hours long, as opposed to the 32-hour course required if you’re under 18. You will not be required to have a learner’s permit or to have completed any behind-the-wheel instruction.


2. What are the steps to get a Learner’s Permit in Texas?

In order to obtain the Texas Learner’s Permit, you must be through 4 basic steps below:


2.1. Step 1: Complete a Driver’s Education Course Approved by the State

You must first complete a state-approved driving education course before you can begin the application process.


2.2. Step 2: Submit all the needed documents

You will be asked to provide documents to complete your application for a Texas learner’s permit, as with other trips to the Texas DPS. Make sure you have the following paperwork ready ahead of time to avoid any unexpected situation :

  • Completion certificate DL-14A Texas Driver’s Education Completion Form for obtaining a driver’s license, signed by a parent or guardian
  • Verification of Texas state high school enrollment (2) Evidence of residence
  • Proof of Social Security card


2.3. Step 3: Visit the Texas DMV office (DPS)

Following the completion of the relevant paperwork, you must arrange a visit to the Texas Department of Public Safety to finalize your permit application. Before you arrive, the DPS suggests that you book an appointment to take the Texas Learner’s Permit exam. While it is not required, it may save you time.


After submitting your papers, you will be asked to sign, thumbprint, take a photograph, and pay a $16 application fee. You will also be required to complete and pass a vision exam, which will establish if you need to wear glasses or other visual assistance while driving.


2.4. Step 4: Take the DMV Written Test

The written test is most likely the most challenging aspect of obtaining your Texas driver’s license. The exam covers traffic laws and rules as they apply to drive a car in the state. To pass, you must answer 30 questions correctly and correctly 70% of the time.


It is vital to understand that the DMV Texas Learner’s permit written exam is not intended to be tough; rather, it is intended to measure your knowledge of relevant driving principles. Many people find it difficult to retain all of this material, especially children who must study driver education as well as other topics as part of their public school curriculum.


In fact, studying the DMV Texas Driver’s Handbook is not enough. Because the book is full of theories and words, just a few samples of practice questions. Thus, we highly recommend learners take some DMV Texas practice tests and mock tests on our website. With over 1500 practice questions, this is the best new learning method to prepare for the written exam! 


2.5. Step 5: Get the permit

After passing the written exam, you will be granted your Texas learner’s permit. The DPS will provide you with a temporary paper license while you await your new card, which will be shipped to you in 2-3 weeks. Make sure that all of the information on your temporary license is correct.


dmv texas learners permit
Your Texas learners permit will be shipped in 2-3 weeks


3. What are the restrictions of the DMV Texas Driver’s Permit?

You may now legally operate a motor vehicle in Texas! As a learners permit, on the other hand, is subject to the following restrictions:

  • Can only drive if accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
  • While driving, you are not permitted to use a wireless communication device, even a hands-free device.


4. What is the next step for the Texas learner’s permit?

If you are between the ages of 16 and 17, you will be eligible for a temporary license if you meet the following criteria:


  • You’ve finished the behind-the-wheel section of driver’s education, which included 7 hours of in-car observation, 7 hours of in-car demonstration, and 30 hours of driving practice with a licensed adult over the age of 21.
  • You’ve demonstrated solid driving habits.
  • You’ve had your permit for at least six months, or until the age of eighteen.

After that, you may take the road test and get your temporary license. This will eliminate some of the restrictions associated with a learner’s permit and give you a little more flexibility in terms of who may be in your car and when you can drive it.


5. Texas Learner’s permit sample practice tests

Let’s take a look at the 10 samples question below to know your ability to pass: 


Question 1: If a truck or bus is making a right turn where you also need to make a right turn, you should:

  1. Quickly turn before the truck or bus is able to.
  2. Squeeze between the truck or bus and the curb.
  3. Wait until the truck or bus turns before you turn.


texas learners permit guide
sample Texas Learner’s permit questions

Question 2: Which of these statements is true about drugs and driving?

  1. Any prescription drug is safe to use if you don’t feel drowsy.
  2. Even over-the-counter drugs can impair your driving.
  3. Only illegal drugs can impair your driving.


Question 3: When driving at night on a dimly lit street, you should:

  1. Drive slowly enough that you can stop within the area illuminated by your headlights.
  2. Keep the instrument panel lights bright to be more visible to other drivers.
  3. Turn on your high beam headlights to better see the vehicles ahead of you.


Question 4: Give the right-of-way to any pedestrian who is:

  1. Crossing any street.
  2. In a marked crosswalk.
  3. In any crosswalk or intersection.


Question 5: Before you change lanes, you should check your mirrors and:

  1. Always slow down in your traffic lane.
  2. Glance over your shoulder.
  3. Never look over your right shoulder.


Question 6: A pedestrian starts to cross the street after the “Don’t Walk” signal begins to flash. The pedestrian is in the middle of the street when your signal light changes to green. You should:

  1. Proceed if the pedestrian is not in your lane.
  2. Proceed if you have the right of way.
  3. Wait until the pedestrian crosses the street before proceeding.


Question 7: If a child is riding a bicycle near your vehicle:

  1. Beep your horn.
  2. Expect the child to be in total control of the bicycle.
  3. Expect the unexpected.


Question 8:  At a red traffic light with a green arrow, you may proceed in the direction of the arrow if:

  1. You are in the proper lane and the roadway is clear.
  2. You first come to a complete stop.
  3. You wait until the light changes.


Question 9: A broken yellow centerline indicates that:

  1. Passing is not permitted.
  2. Passing on the left is permitted when the way ahead is clear.
  3. Passing on the right is permitted when the way ahead is clear.


Question 10: When you are facing a green light and there are pedestrians in the intersection:

  1. Pedestrians must wait for you to cross.
  2. You have the right-of-way over pedestrians.
  3. You must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians.


The above information is everything you need to know about the DMV Texas Driver’s Permit. We hope that our step to step guide is helpful for you as well as can assist you well in preparing for the DMV Texas Driver’s License. Don’t forget to practice with DMV Practice Test to achieve your goal!