Provisional License In Maryland- Guideline and Essential Information
Are you on the way to obtain a Provisional license in Maryland but still unclear about its functions as well as the restrictions when having one? We all understand that it’s a complicated and long last procedure, but it has to be done. In this Provisional License In Maryland Guideline, we furnish you a piece of very quick and get-to-point information about the MVA Provisional license as well as answer the FAQs about it.
1. What is the Provisional license in Maryland?
After completing the Maryland learner’s permit, you will move to the second stage of achieving the Driver’s license, which is obtaining the Provisional license. According to Maryland law, you can not straightly receive a Maryland driver’s license without holding the Provisional permit for at least 150 days. In addition, we already categorized provisional license holders into three major types:
- New drivers: just completed the learner’s permit
- Out-of-stage driver: just moved to Maryland from other states and haven’t been driving for more than 8 months
- Out-of-country driver: just moved to Maryland from another country and haven’t been driving for more than 18 months
2. What are the requirements of the Provisional license in Maryland?
In order to apply for a Maryland Provisional license, you need to qualify all the requirements below:
2.1. Be at least 16 years old 6 months
2.2. Pass the MVA licensed and approved standardized driver educational course.
Moreover, only the MVA training course is approved, other states’ courses can’t be counted.
2.3. Complete the practice skills log with the supervisor’s signature
When reading this part, you are wondering what is the practice skills log? In brief, the practice skills log of the Provisional license in Maryland is a document that contains your 60 hours of practicing under the control of a supervisor. This could be a parent, guardian, or driving instructor. Besides, there must be 10 hours of night driving in the practice skills log. More specifically, it should be recorded between the hours of 30 minutes of sunrise as well as 30 minutes of sunset.
3. What are the driving rules of a Provisional license in Maryland?
In Maryland, there are several rules that a Provisional license holder should notice and follow, which are:
3.1. Under 18 years old rules
If you are under 18 years old, you are not allowed to:
- Drive between midnight and 5 AM
- Drive with non-family members under 18 years old (you only can drive with qualified supervisors). However, this restriction will be expired after 5 months if your record is clear.
- Using a cell phone to make a call or texting while driving
3.2. Under 21 years old
If you are under the age of 21 and have any level of alcohol in your system, you are not permitted to drive. Older drivers must adhere to impaired driving laws. In addition, you must drive with your seat belt fastened.
4. What are the Provisional license in Maryland exceptions?
In short, there are 5 exceptions to the regulations that you should know:
- The driver is on his way to, from, or doing official work duties.
- The driver is on his or her way to or from an official school activity.
- The driver is on his way to or from an established volunteer activity.
- The driver is on his or her way to or from a sports event or training session.
- The driver is accompanied by a certified licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least three years of driving experience.
5. What are the FAQs of a Provisional license in Maryland?
5.1. What happens if I get a moving violation when holding a Provisional license in Maryland?
If you got a point on your MVA Provisional license, you will face additional sanctions on your license, which are:
- 1st Moving Violation Conviction: A driving improvement course will be needed for you
- 2nd Moving Violation Conviction: Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.
- 3rd Moving Violation Conviction: Your license will be suspended for 180 days and, depending on the severity of the offense, may be revoked. If you incur an additional infraction after your third conviction, your license may be revoked.
5.2. How long am I required to have a Provisional license in Maryland?
In Maryland, you must drive with a temporary license for at least 18 months without receiving any driving offenses. If you are issued a moving infraction, your 18-month period will be reset. After the 18-month period has expired, your license will be automatically updated.
5.3. I’m 26 years old, what are the rules I need to follow?
In fact, the law will change when you are over 25. If you didn’t obtain a license before, you are required to obtain an MVA learner’s permit.
If you have never gotten a moving ticket, you can take a Skills Driving Test after 45 days of driving under your permit.
You must accomplish the following prerequisites within 45 days.
- Complete a 30-hour classroom and 6-hour behind-the-wheel driving education program certified by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.
- Complete at least 14 hours of supervised driving, with three of those hours taking place at night, as well as at dawn and sunset.
- Fill up the MVA Provisional license practice skills log.
5.4. Can I buy a car without a Provisional license in Maryland?
Yes, you can. You don’t need to hold any license to buy a car. However, you absolutely need to have a DMV driver’s license to operate them on the road.
5.5. Can I drive alone with a Provisional license in Maryland?
No, you can’t. You are only allowed to drive with a licensed adult in the front seat.
5.6. What is the duration of a Provisional license in Maryland?
It’s 10 years. A temporary license is the next phase in the Rookie Driver tiered licensing system. You must pass the Maryland driving skills exam to obtain a temporary license. During the provisional period, the driver gains experience by driving without supervision but with limits.
5.7. How long does it take to get a Provisional license in Maryland?
If you apply for your provisional license online, it will typically be accepted and mailed to you within a week. Allow 3 weeks for postal applications to arrive.
You already knew everything about how to get an MVA Provisional license and the needed information. We hope that our MVA Provisional license can help you move to the next stage of getting a full DMV MVA Driver’s license. If you are looking for a place to practice for your upcoming DMV Test, start our Maryland DMV Practice Test now!